Read Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir by H.D.S. Greenway Online

foreign-correspondent-a-memoir

David Greenway, a journalists journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins In this vivid memoir, he tells us what its like to report a war up close.Reporter David Greenway was at the White House the day Kennedy was assassinated He was in the jungles of Vietnam in that wars most dangerous days, and left Saigon by helicopter from the American embassy as the city was falling He was with Sean Flynn when Flynn decided to get an entire New Guinea village high on hash, and with him hours before he disappeared in Cambodia He escorted John le Carre around South East Asia as he researched The Honourable Schoolboy He was wounded in Vietnam and awarded a Bronze Star for rescuing a Marine He was with Sidney Schanberg and Dith Pran in Phnom Penh before the city descended into the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge Greenway covered Sadat in Jerusalem, civil war and bombing in Lebanon, ethnic cleansing and genocide the Balkans, the Gulf Wars both , and reported from Afghanistan and Iraq as they collapsed into civil war This is a great adventure storythe life of a war correspondent on the front lines for five decades, eye witness to come of the most violent and heroic scenes in recent history....

Title : Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1476761329
Format Type : Hardcover
Language : English
Publisher : Simon Schuster August 19, 2014
Number of Pages : 320 pages
File Size : 575 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir Reviews

  • michael d. mosettig
    2018-11-28 02:02

    David Greenway gives journalistic professionals and those who follow the news some well told and rare insights into the world of journalism and especially that special world of foreign correspondence. I was particularly struck by his observation that the correspondents in Vietnam developed an emotional attachment to that country, something that certainly did not happen to those who followed in Iraq. One can only hope this book is not some kind of obituary, in a journalistic world turned upside down by technology and economic forces, for the kind of foreign correspondence that has served millions of Amiercan readers so well in the decades since World War II. A treat of a book.

  • Fedoradude
    2018-12-04 08:13

    Another reviewer shagged this book as "just plain boring." Mmmm. Not sure I can agree with that.

  • Dennis Endicott
    2018-11-19 03:11

    I was impressed with this auto-biography! Greenway spent his life in the real life world of war correspondent and cast a lot of wisdom on the geo-politics that have formed our lives. John LaCaire used him as the basis of his character protagonist in the Honorable School Boy. I was very pleased and should be a good read for the baby boomers who lived most of this mans reporting history.

  • Gene Porter
    2018-12-07 02:07

    Greenway's personal trip through his history as a leading foreign correspondent for most serious major US publications is enhanced by his penetrating and highly thoughtful observations on cause and effect. These authoritative observations are illustrated by his prolific but understated use of "I was there and miraculously survived" the front lines of Southeast and Southwest Asian, the Balkans, and MidEast violence. His vignettes ranged from the whimsical history of the origin of Russia's current national flag through his many interviews with historically important movers and shakers, to his many opportunities to have been killed in his line of work.

  • Gregory M. Burns
    2018-11-13 03:02

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. But then, I have been a fan of his writing from his days at the Globe some years ago. So glad he put these stories together in this book. A fascinating, well-written view to the world of a foreign correspondent on scene during some of the most momentous events of the past century.

  • Gary A. Christiansen
    2018-12-02 00:11

    Excellent book.

  • Janemb35
    2018-11-10 00:58

    Fascinating summary of a reporter's life in South East Asia.

  • Brewster Righter
    2018-11-26 06:20

    Fine